Kawah Ijen

wanna share about my experience in kawah ijen..

Kawah Ijen volcano is one of several volcanoes located in the 15km diameter Ijen Caldera in East Java, Indonesia. it’s about 3hours from my place, jember. The caldera rim is still visible in places, but has been partially buried by Kawah Ijen, 2800m high Gunung Merapi (not to be confused with Merapi volcano near Yogyakarta), Gunung Rante and Gunung Pendil volcanoes. The caldera is today largely filled with coffee plantations. Kawah Ijen harbours a large warm acidic crater lake and an active sulphur mine. Due to its easy accessibility, turqoise lake and unique sulphur mining operation, the crater is regularly visited by tourists.

actually it’s my resolution this year, thanks for my friend that fullfill my wish. for the first time going to mountain, and i’m very exciting. camping, cold weather, no water, camp fire, it’s all good memories! need 3hours for climbing for beginner, at the beginning me with about 10 people climbing but on the way, i just relized that me and my friend that lead in front. hehee…

then i just need 1.5hours for climbing! Daebak! hahaa.. and i feel so proud of me. kekekee…

in the top of Ijen, i just can say Subhanallah, be gratefull that i have opportunity seeing paintings of Allah SWT. but unfortunately we can’t see blue fire because at the time kawah ijen on “siaga” status. but kawah ijen still beautifull… it’s so cold, it’s better for you to wear sweaters and gloves. i’m surely, i will be back if i have opportunity. but still many places that i wanna go..

1

5 thoughts on “Kawah Ijen

Leave a comment